The Rollercoaster Ride! and the Courage…

persevere...

persevere…

I have been reading some of the blogs on WordPress, of women who are going through some experience of infertility – IVF treatments, IUI, super-ovulation, donor egg, and surrogacy and adoption.  Wow!  You all blow my mind.  You have such courage for some of the things you are doing and taking on.  One woman is carrying a baby for a couple, such a selfless act!  She has her own emotions and rollercoaster to ride.   Another couple are expecting twins through a surrogate.   One woman was asked if she was going to give both her babies to the same parents…!     What struck me is that we are such a unique band of women – really isolated from the world of parents who have had children through traditional means, and just have no clue of what it means to go through this journey.   Some of the comments I have read of what people say – even well-meaning people, really just emphasises how much they really don’t get what this experience is like.   I really encourage you if you are one of this courageous group, to make sure you have a buddy who know what you are enduring, who knows what to say and when.   Make sure its someone you trust, someone who can support you through this minefield, but most of all – don’t do it alone.  I have met some women who isolate themselves through this experience, and I see how lonely and shut off they are.  Join a support group.  Don’t let it get to the stage of emergency, when you really need help and emotional support, prepare for this at the beginning of the journey.  RESOLVE.org has lots of support groups around the countryside, or get a coach if you want anonymous support, but don’t do it alone.    My heart goes out to all of you on this journey – myself included.    Keep up the good work, and keep the stories coming.   The gift out of this painful experience for me, has created the passion I feel for women like you, and how I now can add value through the work I have chosen to do.    You amaze and inspire me.

Warm wishes,Coach Louise Crooks

PS  If any of you would like to share your story on my Radio Show, to reach out to  other women in similar situations to yours, please get in touch, through the Contact page in the right hand column.

The status of this blog

Leave a Reply

