Connection between Ergotamine and Infertility?

Hi all,

I was wondering if there was a link between Ergotamine and Infertility.  I have for the longest time been a migraineur – with occular migraines/cluster headaches.  For about 15 years I took a drug called Migral, which you can get in the UK and in South Africa, which contains a herb called Ergot, which basically helps to constrict the blood vessels which are pumping blood into the head causing the aura and beginning of pain.  I took it for a long time.  I know there are serious repercussions if you overdose – restriction of the blood to the extremities – gangrene etc, but I have always been very careful to stick within the limits.  I have read a couple of articles on how ergot was used with bulls, and how it effected their fertility! What is it doing to us humans….?   Did you know that it is used to ‘let down’ the uterus after birth in some circumstances?  Don’t get me wrong, this drug has helped me tremendously over the years, and has its uses!

Well, I am just wondering because it doesn’t seem like there is much info on this. If anyone has any comment on this, and might be able to enlighten us, please respond to this post!

openly yours,

Coach Louise Crooks

The status of this blog

2 thoughts on “Connection between Ergotamine and Infertility?

  1. Pingback: Connection between Ergotamine and Infertility?

Leave a Reply

