Invisible Illness Week and Infertility

I had to bring attention to Invisible Illness Week which is this week.  Especially when it comes women dealing with chronic illness or pain  and also having the challenge of infertility!  Infertility could also be seen as an invisible illness.  I don’t like it being referred to as a ‘disease’  which kind of makes me feel a victim, or being broken, or something you can catch…  Anyhow the combination of pain or illness and fertility is a really big challenge.  I know what this is like because of being a migraineur (cluster headaches/occular migraines) and I am sure that the physical and emotional stress of that together with trying to creating a life can have a huge effect. It probably also has a lot to do with why I haven’t been successful yet on the road to creating a family through treatments.   So I really want to support those of you out there who have this double condition, and know that you are not alone.

Warmly,

Coach Louise Crooks

The status of this blog

4 thoughts on “Invisible Illness Week and Infertility

  1. Thank you for taking the time to address this “double whammy”. I blogged ( http://www.HarvestingHope.blogspot.com ) about these same issues on Sept. 4, Sept. 8 and Sept. 9 offers a link to the hour-long NICIAW BlogTalk Radio broadcast I shared with Lisa Copen, both of us now after-infertility moms after long journies through fertility challenges while also living with chronic illness.

    I totally agree that infertility in and of itself is an invisible chronic illness and it always blessed my heart to see others recognize it as such as well! Praying for you as you continue on this dual journey. {{{hugs}}}

  2. Hi Sharon,
    What you say makes perfect sense, I certainly understand where you’re coming from. Thats why I felt it was pertinent to put it on the blog with fertility. I suppose the word ‘disease’ is just a personal perspective on how I see myself. But acknowledgement and understanding is important. I recognise that, not only with fertility but with my migraine issue which is also referred to as a disease. I don’t want to see myself as sick or damaged – just so that I can convince myself that I am capable of getting out there and creating a normal life despite these issues. I hope that makes sense. We all have different ways of making our situation ‘work better’ for us through how we see ourselves and our challenges. Kudos for bringing up the point. I don’t want to diminish anyone’s feelings around this topic!

  3. Hey Louise, but aren’t we victims of this? We did not choose it, we need medical treatment to resolve the symptoms of it and yet we’re never cured of it. I prefer to refer to it as a disease because I want the people around me to treat it as such, because I’m sick of being poo poo’d about it and not taken seriously when I try to explain how it feels. For me, its not about pity, but about acknowdledgement.
    Just my opinion! 🙂

Leave a Reply

