Facts and Causes of Miscarriage

dreamstimefree_1462489-flamingo-taking-offI read the latest Conceive-on-line, this morning and thought this article was interesting and wanted to share it with you… 
Miscarriage: The Facts E-mail
conceive’s librarypregnancy loss

Early pregnancy loss is so common that many obstetricians consider it a normal part of reproduction. That doesn’t make the loss any easier. Learn about the seven most common miscarriage causes, and how to up your chances for a healthy pregnancy.

A few months after my first child was born, I wanted to be pregnant again—as soon as possible. I wanted my children to be close in age, the closer the better, and when my son was 13 months old, I got my wish and discovered I was pregnant.

But before I even had a chance to share the news with my husband (he was traveling out of the country), I miscarried. I was only five weeks pregnant. Truth be told if we hadn’t been trying to conceive, I probably wouldn’t have even noticed that my period was late—and so I was surprised by how sharply I felt the loss. My obstetrician’s observations that I was in good company—that around 15 percent of “known” pregnancies (i.e., pregnancies confirmed with a test), and up to half of all pregnancies end in miscarriage during the first trimester—didn’t soothe my sadness. Nor did his assurance that the miscarriage wasn’t caused by something I had done, or hadn’t done, that it was “just one of those things.” But I was comforted when I considered the other statistic: that most of the time miscarriage is a one-time occurrence.

If you have had a miscarriage, chances are you want to know what caused it, and what you can do to prevent it from happening again. For starters, relax. “Since you got pregnant once, the odds are 80 percent that you will go on to have a healthy baby, and as many healthy babies after that as you want,” says Henry Lerner, M.D., clinical professor of obstetrics and gynecology at Harvard Medical School and author of Miscarriage: Why it Happens and How Best to Reduce Your Risks (Perseus Book Group, 2003). Next, accept that you may never know why you miscarried. “The majority of the time miscarriage is a random, isolated event and we can’t pinpoint a cause,” he says. Women who go on to have two or three miscarriages (called recurrent miscarriage) may ultimately learn they have a medical problem that is causing their pregnancies to end spontaneously, but even with recurrent miscarriage, half the time there is no known cause.

Like most women who lose a pregnancy, I will never know why I miscarried, but I did get pregnant again, about two months later. My second baby was born two weeks after her brother’s second birthday. They are, as it turns out, close enough.

Here’s a look at the most common causes of both single and recurrent miscarriage….. http://www.conceiveonline.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=169&Itemid=101

(cut and paste in browser if not connecting through link)

I hope you find the info useful.

Coach Louise

The status of this blog

4 thoughts on “Facts and Causes of Miscarriage

  1. Louise, have you ever read the book “Is your body baby friendly?” by dr Alan Beer? It is mind blowing! Yesterday, after my doctor told me that I was most likely miscarrying and it’s because I’m old (I’m 37, not THAT old, right?) and the quality of my eggs are not top anymore, I fished the book out of my bag and asked her if she would PLEASE read it. Not all miscarriages are related to the baby, some are related to the mother. You know that, I know that (after 5 losses) but they just refuse to look further than their daily practice. Anyway, I just wanted to point this book out to you, if you haven’t already heard of it. You’ll like it.
    Loving the blog!

  2. Thanks for the advice. Its been almost two years since my m/c and I still remember the face of the ultrasound tech. It has gotten easier with time though. And like so many, I too will never know why. That’s the hardest thing I will ever have to live with. And, after 4 years with no luck for even our first, I wonder all the time.

    • You and I are in the same boat – almost exactly the same. It isn’t easy, and its difficult not to question what went wrong, when most likely there was nothing we could have done. I read somewhere recently that about 50% of all pregnancies end in miscarriage its just a lot of women are generally not aware that they are even pregnant at the time! Its important to let go something which you really had no control over. Letting go can be liberating. So you can move forward to the what could be’s. Hope is better than recrimination, as the latter doesn’t any kind of useful emotion that will support you. Focus on all the wonderful things you are doing, keep supporting yourself emotionally and physically, and who knows what 2009 could bring. I am starting a telecircle group that is just about that – support and encouragement and proactive steps for women like us who are on this rollercoaster journey. Please consider joining us! Its starts in a couple of weeks, and I posted on it a couple of days ago. Stay well, and baby dust to you in 2009!
      Coach Louise

Leave a Reply

